three quarters past four

Recently I have been waking up earlier and earlier every day – not on purpose, though.  Of course.

I think it started when Danny got really serious about waking up at 6:00am every morning to work out.  By default, I was also waking up at 6, but not necessarily working out.  More like catching up on blogs and Instagram from bed until I was in the know on all of the exciting and pressing things that had happened overnight.  But that is irrelevant to this issue.

A couple of weeks ago, I started waking up at 5:50am instead of with the alarm at 6:00am.  Not enough time to try to go back to sleep, I’d just lay in bed (with my phone, duh) until the alarm went off.  Before long, I found I was waking up at 5:45am.  Annoying, but not a huge deal.

But then this week, I found myself wide awake at 5:30am.  This was not okay, but somehow it gave me the motivation to actually get up and work out.  This was happening around the time Danny (temporarily) switched his wake up time to 6:15am, so I had time for a whole work out before he was even awake.  I really enjoyed it and felt kind of accomplished not only working out, but doing it before Danny did.  But that was until the evening, when I wanted to go to sleep around 8:00pm.

I thought 5:30am was as bad as it would get, but then today I saw 4:45am.  Oh, and I don’t think I mentioned we’re in San Antonio right now, so it was like 3:45am at home.  Yes.  As could be expected, I’m sitting on the couch at 5:30pm wondering if this is an appropriate time to go to bed, but thinking dinner might be worth staying up for.  Maybe.

I kept myself from sleeping all afternoon by exploring the river walk.  I was out for about three hours, and when I got back, I did some Google Maps to figure out roughly how far I walked, and I can confidently say it was over six miles, and probably closer to seven or eight.

Because I need to wait till after dinner to crash, a few pictures from my stroll…

DSC01251

DSC01253

DSC01260

DSC01265

DSC01268

I really saw a lot of the river walk, and combined with last night’s walk, I’ve even started to develop a few favorite sections.  It was quiet, chilly (for Texas, at least – it was in the low 50’s), overcast, and not very crowded in most parts.  So thankful for the time to explore a bit and be along the water.

 Here’s hoping that I have sufficiently tired myself out so that tomorrow I will sleep until noon.

One thought on “three quarters past four

  1. Pingback: riverwalk ramblin': our trip to san antonio | pandasandlemons

Leave a Reply

