a bit of catch-up

Seeing how it’s been nearly two months since I’ve been around these parts, it feels necessary to do a bit of ‘catching-up’ before diving into it all.

November felt like the calm before the storm, which hit right around Thanksgiving.  We spent the week leading up to Thanksgiving in Greeley, Thanksgiving day with my family (for lunch) and Danny’s (for dinner), and the days after Thanksgiving working.

And then: December.

I don’t think I need to explain to anyone what December is typically like (crazy busy but fun and magical and cold and maybe even a bit stressful, am I right?).  We spent 11 out of the 24 days leading up to Christmas out of town, and while I wouldn’t have had it any other way, it was busy.

And now, January.  We haven’t really been leaving the house except for going to work and to the grocery store.  You know, just the essentials.  And it has felt really good.  I think that, for Coloradans at least, that’s part of the beauty of January.  It’s cold and snowy and only light out for about nine hours a day, so you stay inside and start a fire in the fireplace and leave up the pretty, twinkling Christmas tree, and play with your Christmas presents and do all the reading, movie watching, and game playing you don’t do in the summer (because that’s when you’re outside as much as possible).  At least that’s how it feels for me.

So without further ado, four of my favorite pictures from the two months I’ve been away from this little blog…

DSC00784

^^ I know this picture is about as blurry as it gets, but I keep going back to it.  Of course, I wish it wasn’t blurry, but it captures one of my very favorite nights of the year: decorating the Christmas tree with my parents and Mysteridge.  It’s become a day-before-Thanksgiving tradition since Danny and I have had to leave Greeley on Thanksgiving day the past two years, but whatever day it happens, it’s my favorite. ^^

DSC01156

^^ Danny and I spent four full days in Charleston, South Carolina together in mid-December, and it was the best.  I mean, obviously.  Just look at that sunset and its Atlantic reflection.  ^^

DSC02133

^^ I love Christmas morning.  The three of us during a break in the action. ^^

DSC01213

^^ Danny and I celebrated our 2nd wedding anniversary on January 3rd with a weekend getaway to Boulder.  I’m usually quite the critic, but this weekend was pretty perfect. ^^

I’ll be back soon with more Thanksgiving, Charleston, Christmas, and anniversary goodness.

Leave a Reply

