october goals

I can hardly believe October is here!  Mostly because it’s starting to really feel like fall – a light jacket wasn’t enough for our after-dinner walk the other night – and I feel like we barely had summer!  I guess we just need to go somewhere this winter that feels like summer since we got gypped this summer.

Time for a look back at September’s goals…

1. Blog four times.  Yes!  I wrote about what we did in July, my September goals, Labor Day weekend, a few trip highlights, what we did in August, and our first day in London.  I think that’s six posts!

2. Back up our pictures somehow.  I’ve started using the site ThisLife and have backed up all of our pictures through our first day in Paris…which is somewhere around 2300 photos.  I still need to do the rest, but the internet is too slow at our apartment for doing such a task in a reasonable amount of time.   A fun photo I found while backing things up a few weeks ago…I don’t even remember taking this…

DSC06672

3. Reduce the number of library books I have checked out.  This has been a roaring success.  Between the 20+ London/Paris related books I had checked out, plus wanting to finish up some things before we left, I’m now down to 63 items!  And if you remember, my goal was 60 – 70.  Now, if I can just keep it that way…

4. Have an awesome trip.  We did.  We really, really did.  You can see some highlights here and the first post I did here.  And a photo that didn’t make it in either post, but is from our first day in London and demonstrates how good Danny is at taking these sorts of photos – it only took one try!

DSC09062

And now, for some October goals…

1. Plan a trip.  

At the beginning of the summer, a coworker told me her mom often told her, “Always have a trip planned” and it stuck with me and I love it.  I really think that always having something to look forward to (and it doesn’t have to be a trip, but for me, having a trip on the horizon is something I really look forward to) can do wonders for you.  I read this post on that topic recently and I was like, “Yes!  This is what I’m saying!”  I know we’ve been back for less than a week (and our travel budget will say the same thing), so I’m not thinking anything big, but an overnight in the mountains would be nice.  And it’s never too early to start dreaming about our next adventure…in fact, we have a pretty good idea of what we want 2015 to look like as far as traveling goes!

2. Go to a pumpkin patch, see the fall colors in the mountains, carve pumpkins.

I’m working every weekend but one this month, but I’m hoping we can still fit in a few fun ‘fall’ things.  The good news is that, despite the whole weekend thing, this year our schedules are a bit more flexible than they were last year at this time, so hopefully we can at least make these three things a priority.

3. Read 6 books.  

I’m making reading a goal again this month because I really slacked last month.  Maybe because we were on a trip for half of it, but regardless, I want to read more this month.

4. Finish blog posts about our trip.

Now this, this is an ambitious goal.  But I’d like to aim for it anyways.  I’ll thank myself later.

5. Go for walks as much as possible.

It is getting dark by about 7pm now (boo) which means that we can’t decide to take a walk, albeit a short one, at 8:30pm or 9pm like we would in the summer.  I love going for a walk with Danny after dinner, and it’s really tough on those nights that I don’t get home till almost 6:30pm, but seeing how it’s getting dark earlier and earlier, and before I know it, it’ll be dark by 5pm, I want to savor these days while we can.

And there you have it!  Hope you have a great October!

Leave a Reply

