everyone loves august

You know me and writing my monthly recap posts long after the month itself has past.  This month is (obviously) no different, but I have a bit of a good excuse – we were out of the country for two weeks seeing London and Paris and I stayed away from things like email and blogging during that time.  So here we go, August 2014.

On August 1st, my manager at work retired.  She was the best boss I’ve ever had and she will be dearly missed at PPLD.  We had a breakfast party for her in the morning before the library opened up…and I think all of us cried at least a little bit.

Over the first weekend in August, Danny and I enjoyed going to the Parade of Homes here in Colorado Springs.  We went last year after I won a pair of tickets and had so much fun, so this year we decided to go again, and we had a great time.  We love seeing the different homes but our favorite part is how the interiors are decorated.  Here’s a few of my favorite things that we saw…really loving, from top to bottom, the beetle kill wood wall, the window seat, and the wall paper, plus the cozy looking headboards and all the gray!  So many fun rooms and ideas.

IMG_20140802_111400460

IMG_20140802_140238962_HDR

IMG_20140802_144255846

My mom came to visit for a few fun days before she started school and it was the best.  She treated us to lunch at Hacienda Colorado (I know I’ve said it before, but it’s worth saying again, Hacienda Colorado is tops), we went for a walk on our nature path, and we hiked at Red Rock Open Space.

DSC08860

DSC08851

DSC08852

DSC08861

DSC08862

This was the first time either one of us had been to Red Rock Open Space, and I mean, how could you not want to go back?!  It is truly one of Colorado Springs’ hidden gems, if you ask me.

Also during the first full week of August we met my parents at Adventure Golf in the Denver area and spent the evening riding go-karts and playing mini golf.  It was a blast.

DSC08864

DSC08865

^^ Look at that feast my mom packed for us! ^^

DSC08873

DSC08867

DSC08879

^^ And there was even funnel cake! ^^

DSC08883

DSC08869

DSC08885

Over the second weekend in August, Danny had his big television debut as our friends Andrew and Lisa invited him to be a part of a scene in their House Hunters show.  We’ll let you know how it turns out when the episode premieres in December.  My friend and maid of honor, Andrea, came to visit as well.  We went to the zoo, ate at Seeds, checked out Poor Richard’s bookstore, and enjoyed the beautiful weather.  It was fun to have her finally see where we live and be able to see her off before she headed to Amsterdam, where she’ll be for a few months (jealous!).

DSC08888

The third weekend of August we had dinner with Danny’s brother and his wife, as well as a high school friend of theirs, Ethan, on Friday night.  The sky was especially pretty that evening…

image

On Saturday we went to a few more stops on the Parade of Homes…we both loved that pretty kitchen, especially with all its natural light!  And the bottom picture, where Danny’s showing off the headboard?  That’s a rug, framed by painted wood.  Clever, huh?

IMG_20140816_105722225_HDR

image-2

In the afternoon we went to Park Meadows for some shopping – mostly looking for shoes and such for our trip.  We also had a delicious dinner at Lyfe Kitchen, a new restaurant just above Anthropologie.  It’s a little pricey, but it’s good, and has a great vegan menu too!  Danny had a burger and I had a wrap, and just look at that neat herb garden – in the middle of the restaurant!

IMG_20140816_174550201

IMG_20140816_180046319

We stopped at Starbucks for a little treat after more shopping.  (This might be a good time to say that I think we left the mall with only one pair of shoes – we did a lot of looking but not a lot of buying.)  It was the first time I’d been to Starbucks since college, so it was really fun to ‘splurge’ a little (with a gift card from my birthday – thanks Sarah!) and, besides, the outdoor part of Park Meadows is so pretty!  I want to go there just to read and drink more raspberry green tea (or whatever that tasty concoction was).  And after that Danny was in a particularly sweet mood and went to the American Girl store with me as I relived my childhood and gasped at how high their prices have gotten!  I mean, they’ve always been high, but over $100 for just a doll?!

IMG_20140816_185930

IMG_20140816_190609711

During the third weekend of August, Danny and I went to a Sky Sox game where we both wore our winter jackets!  It sure has been a bizarre summer!  We spent Saturday at Red Rock Open Space (surprised?), the Cheyenne Mountain Zoo, and with our friends Andrew and Lisa, playing mini golf, eating frozen yogurt, and seeing their new house…

DSC08896

DSC08906

DSC08908

DSC08913

DSC08916

DSC08919

On Sunday, we went to church, for a bike ride around our neighborhood, and on a date to La Casa Fiesta, a Mexican restaurant in Monument I’ve been wanting to try because of their awesome looking patio.  The food was good and the patio was great, but it’s no Hacienda Colorado.

image-3

During the last week of August, I got to see my friend Jessica, who had just returned from spending three months in Jerusalem.  It was so fun to see her photos and hear about her experiences.  We also hosted our friend Chris (you know, who we went to see – along with his wife and daughter – in Boise back in May) all week long, which was a lot of fun.  He was pretty busy with seminary classes, but when he wasn’t, we enjoyed spending time together and catching up on the past couple of months.  Looking forward to when he might come back again in January!

And then it was Labor Day, which I wrote all about here!

August was really a fun month.  Overall we had good weather and enjoyed the opportunities we had to see family and friends.  This is where I’d normally say something about how I’m looking forward to September, but seeing how there’s only two days left, I guess I’ll just say this: September was great and y’all can look forward to some posts on our trip coming soon!

One thought on “everyone loves august

  1. Pingback: october goals | pandasandlemons

Leave a Reply

