the days of july

It is September.  I started this post on August 6th and was pretty pumped about it…only a few days past July instead of halfway through the next month as usual.  And now look, it’s September, and I’m finally finishing it up.  Oh well.  I have so much fun recapping our month and remembering some of the little (and big) things we did, though, that it’s worth it.

On the first of July, I met Danny for lunch at his office.  Seems silly to mention (especially since there’s no photos!) but I used to meet him for lunch at T. Rowe all the time, and this was my first time to meet him at Compassion for lunch!  Let’s not dwell on the fact that he’d been there for seven months by the time I finally came…

Our friends Ian and Haley are back from spending three years in Bangladesh, and Haley came to spend a couple of days with me while our fellas were busy with Brandon and Kate’s wedding preparations.  It was such a treat to be with her and we had so much fun together.  We went to the zoo, we made dinner together, we walked on the nature path next to our apartment (and spotted a turtle and a deer!), and we marched in Monument’s 4th of July parade together!

Speaking of the 4th of July, I had my aunt, uncle, and cousins over for a picnic by the pool, which was really great, but unfortunately the weather didn’t cooperate and we didn’t get to swim at all.  Serious bummer.   We still had a good time together, though, and enjoyed a game of Apples to Apples back at our place while the rain was really coming down.    The evening of the 4th was Brandon and Kate’s rehearsal dinner, and the next day was, you guessed it, the wedding.  It was a beautiful wedding, and I’m so glad it rained on the 4th instead of the 5th, since it was outside.  I took very few pictures the whole weekend, but my friend Shannon snapped this of Danny (and our sweet friend Amanda) as they were walking down the field aisle…

2014-07-06_20.47.21

And I did get one at the wedding reception…

DSC08809

Oh hey, Tasha and Jessie!  That’s my cute sister-in-law, Ali, plus some top-notch photo bombers.

On Sunday Danny and I went hiking in the morning since I had barely seen him for past three days and I had to work in the afternoon.  We hiked Mt. Cutler and Helen Hunt Falls.  I did Mt. Cutler with my parents and brother waaaay back when and didn’t remember it at all, and it was great.  A short hike (although very uphill) yet a great view.  Helen Hunt Falls, though, was sort of a let down.  In a word, it was lame.

DSC08813

^^ At the top of Mt. Cutler. ^^

DSC08817

^^ At Helen Hunt Falls, before ‘hiking Helen Hunt Falls.’  We didn’t realize this was as good as it was going to get. ^^

DSC08819

^^ The falls themselves. ^^

That evening, our friend Shannon (not me) came to visit!  She was in town for Brandon and Kate’s wedding, and took some time to come see us and spend the night!  We made pizza and ate on the patio and it was lovely.  I have been in love with our porch this summer.

20140706_192537

And after dinner Shannon and I spent around three hours in the hot tub.  Well, we alternated between the pool and the hot tub since we kept getting so hot in the hot tub!  She really wanted to hike the Incline together the next day but I was finally honest and said no.  I’ve done it once and it’s just not my fav as far as hiking goes.  So thanks to Everett and Ella who went with her since I was being a bit selfish.

After Shannon left we had a game night with our friends Alex, Rachel, Amy, and Michael.  We played Cranium and I can’t remember who won (probably the girls) but I do know it was fun.  And this past weekend Amy and Michael got married!  So fun…and more on that in my August post!  ;)

The second weekend of July we went to Camp Timberline outside of Estes Park with my parents to visit my brother.  He worked there for half of the summer, so it was really fun to get to go and see what it was like.  I wrote all about our visit here.

We went to Greeley that evening and for the next four days as well.  It was the longest we’d been in Greeley since before we got married and moved to Colorado Springs, and it was the first time we were around during the summer, which was such a treat since my mom was off of work.  We ate outside (a lot), went for walks, and enjoyed being together.  I also got to see my friend Jan, and Danny and I had dessert with our friends David and Kaci.  Being in Greeley was definitely one of my favorite parts of the month.

DSC08825

DSC08827

DSC08829

My mom and I spent our days doing lots of fun things together while Danny worked.  One day we went to Loveland and walked around the sculpture park, ate at Panera, and went to the camper store.  Another day we went to Fort Collins and went for a walk on the Spring Creek Trail, ate at the Rainbow Cafe (lots of great vegan options!!), walked around Old Town, and checked out the beautiful flower garden at CSU…

DSC08834

DSC08832

DSC08836

Once we got back home to Colorado Springs, Danny’s grandparents were in town!  I had never met them, and Danny hadn’t seen them since his high school graduation, so we really enjoyed being able to spend time with them.  We had dinner with them a couple of times at his parents’  house and had fun playing games together as well.  On our last night together, we got a great picture together outside of our favorite Chinese place…

DSC08846

Also during the third weekend in July, we had our friends Mark & Allison and Andrew & Lisa over for dinner and swimming.  We are really loving the new pool area this year, and even though it hasn’t been a hot summer, we’ve gotten some good use out of it.

One Monday I went hiking with my friend Kara in Castle Rock, and afterwards we had breakfast downtown.  Which was even more delicious than it looks, believe it or not…!

DSC08843

Of course, I also worked my normal schedule, and then some.  Danny worked plenty, too.  I got my first smart phone, as seen here.  I read a lot, we went swimming as much as we could (it was chilly this July!), and planned our trip to London and Paris (one more week!).

And I think that about covers it.

Happy September, friends, and thanks, July, for being great!

2 thoughts on “the days of july

  1. Pingback: september goals | pandasandlemons

  2. Pingback: october goals | pandasandlemons

Leave a Reply

