july goals

I’ve never been one to set goals.  Maybe it’s because I don’t like losing (i.e. not accomplishing my goals) or maybe it’s because I don’t want to have anything to aim for (…uh oh) or I don’t know. It’s just never been anything I’ve done on a regular basis.  But after setting some goals at work last week and reading about some bloggers that it do it on a monthly basis, setting goals started to seem like a fun idea.  So, no commitments to how long this will last, but I’ve decided to try it.  For July.

(Maybe one of my goals should be to become more decisive.  Or goal oriented.  Or committed.)

So, ready or not, here they are…

1. Become a better budgeter.  

We’ve dabbled in having a budget while we’ve been married, but there’s never been any kind of commitment to it (am I sensing a theme here?).  However, after talking to our friends Emily and Chris and getting fed up with not knowing exactly where our money was going, I spent May planning for it (and reading Dave Ramsey – bet you thought that book would never get used, am I right Keith?), and in June we had our first full month on a budget.  And you know what?  We loved it.  However, with any big change (I’ve been living without a budget for 23 years now), there’s a learning curve.  There were times where we had expenses that didn’t fit in a category we had created (stamps?  curtain rods?  mini-golfing with friends?), so we shifted things or used our debit card.  This month I want to continue to learn and hone our skills in living with a budget.  I’ve spent a good portion of yesterday figuring things out for July and making deposits and withdrawals at the bank, so I think we’re set up for a solid July in the budget realm, but you know, it’s sometimes harder than it seems like it should be.  Especially when there’s two people involved…

2. Read 8 books.  

I don’t think this will be too tough, since I currently average 2-3 books a week, but sometimes I start a book and five days later realize I’m not that into it, and instead of returning it and starting a new one, I keep trudging through it.  No more.  (At least not in July…) And, I’m off to a good start because I’m already finished one book and am halfway through another!

3. Go swimming at least once a week.  

We have an awesome pool here at our apartment complex, and I have a husband who LOVES to swim.  Goggles, diving for rings, underwater handstands, he is fair game for all of it.  For most of the rest of our lives, we probably won’t have a pool just steps away that’s available to use everyday from May to October.  So I want to take advantage of it and enjoy it as much as possible.

DSC06763

^^ Last summer in San Diego. ^^

4. Work out at least four times a week.  

We’ve gotten into a habit of staying up later now that it’s summer time, but it makes it harder to wake up in the mornings to work out.  We both want staying fit to be a priority, but sometimes it’s just so tempting to sleep for another hour, especially now that we have put up curtains in our bedroom that allow us to sleep past 5am (only a year and a half after we moved in…) .  

5. Make reservations in London and Paris.  

So it’s not like it’s sneaking up on me or anything since we’ve had our airplane tickets since April, but goodness, we’re only about nine weeks away from our trip to England and France!  EEEE!  However, we don’t have anywhere to stay yet.  I need to buckle down this month and make some decisions (did I mention decision-making is not a strong suit of mine?) about where we’re going to stay for nine days in London and four in Paris.

6. Find a pair of sunglasses I like.  

A couple of years ago I found a pair of sunglasses I liked and bought two of them, but then I let Danny wear one while driving (and now they’re stretched out and won’t stay on my nose) and lost the other, so I am really on the hunt.  I bought a pair of aviators that were recommended on a blog I read, but they looked waaaaay too big for my face so I returned them, and now I’m back on the hunt.  Suggestions welcome.

7. Go hiking twice.

We live in Colorado.  We’re young, without kids, and Danny has a flexible work schedule.  Basically, we have no excuse to not be outside enjoying the beautiful area we live in.

DSC06548

^^ Last summer at Fox Run Regional Park, only a couple of minutes from our apartment. ^^

8. Get together with friends.

May and June were so busy, I can hardly remember them.  Danny was playing softball, leading worship at church, helping out with the youth group, we went on vacation, I was working a ton, and so on and so forth.  All that being said, we had to put a halt on our Tuesday night game nights we’d been having with Danny’s friends from high school, and weren’t able to initiate with some of the couples we got to know through softball, and our apartment complex game nights fell by the wayside (it’s our turn to host…and we have not gotten around to it).  So this month I want to make developing these relationships a priority.

So, before I get too crazy and make any more, there they are.  Hopefully I’ll check back in at the beginning of August and see how I did…but no guarantees. :)

Leave a Reply

