i am not danny’s boyfriend

Yesterday Danny and I met for lunch at a Chinese restaurant across the street from his office.

Almost as soon as we sat down, we knew we were in for quite the experience:

I asked the waiter if the broccoli was spicy and he proclaimed me wimpy.

He then said, “Why broccoli?  Are you vegetarian this week?”

Why yes, I am.  This week and every week, thank you very much.

Danny was wearing his name badge around his neck and every time the waiter came to the table, he called Danny by name.  Which is not something that often happens at a sit down restaurant.

Not long after our waiter discovered Danny’s name badge, he said, “Danny, who’s this?  Fiance, girlfriend, or boyfriend?”  Danny confirmed that I am his wife, however, once the waiter left, we laughed a little after making sure we heard him correctly.  Did he just asked if I was Danny’s boyfriend?  Is that even possible?  I was wearing a snakeskin sweatshirt and had my hair in a ponytail…not exactly girly, granted, but not really masculine either.

When my broccoli was delivered, the waiter said, “Wimpy broccoli for you!”

This time I didn’t even respond.

Like I said, it was quite an experience.  Our waiter’s antics aside, I don’t think we’ll be heading back there anytime soon because I was (really) hungry within an hour of leaving the restaurant.  Or maybe it’s just because I ordered the broccoli.

Anyways, I received a belated Christmas present in the mail over the weekend, and just started reading it yesterday.  It’s The Antelope in the Living Room by Melanie Shankle, and it’s just as good as I hoped it would be.  I read the Big Mama blog (of which Melanie is also the author) daily because it’s light and funny and just what I need to start my day.

So far my favorite quote from the book is this: “I just wasn’t sure Prince Charles was going to be able to raise them (William and Harry) with the warmth and tenderness that Diana would have wanted.  Although it now appears he did a lovely job, for no other reason than the fact that Prince William chose the lovely Kate Middleton as his bride. I’m slightly obsessed with her, too, but that’s material for an entirely different book.  A book that might put me on some sort of watch list in the UK.”

Now there, my friends, is something I can identify with.

And now, I’m off to see what I can do about appearing more feminine so that Danny won’t be embarrassed by people thinking I’m his boyfriend ever again.

One thought on “i am not danny’s boyfriend

  1. Pingback: we are not taking any chances | pandasandlemons

Leave a Reply

