in which we go to greeley

As you may have figured out from the title of this post, we got to go to Greeley this week.

We left on Sunday morning and got back yesterday afternoon.  We were supposed to leave on Saturday after I got off work, but for those of you who don’t live in Colorado, we were/are dealing with some serious snow and cold around here, and there was no way we could safely leave town, so we gave the snowplows some more time to do what they do and left on Sunday morning instead.

The weather was not terribly conducive to our plans, I’m not going to lie, but it was worth it.  Plus, it’s winter in Colorado, so what do I expect?

While in Greeley, we did various things including watch the Broncos lose the Super Bowl.

That was rather sad, but also monumental: for the first time ever, I watched the Super Bowl from start to finish, including commercials, the half-time show, and even the football part.  And it was really nice.  Except for the football part, but that kind of goes without saying.

The Super Bowl took up almost all of Sunday, but thankfully there was enough time to see Mysteridge and Becca as well, which was very important, not only because I like them, but also because I needed to give Becca her Kate Middleton calendar.  She is a sweetheart, obviously, because today she sent me a picture of it hanging on her wall next to her Duck Dynasty calendar, which was really comforting.  Comforting because, one, she likes both Kate and Duck Dynasty and isn’t embarrassed of it, and two, because I was little bit worried she would put the calendar straight in the trash because what if Kate came to her house and saw it hanging up?  That would be so weird for her (both Becca and Kate).  Or at least that’s what Danny’s been saying to me.

One of the best parts of going to Greeley is seeing our sweet friends.  On Monday I got to see Kaci, who has been my friend since 8th grade and single-handedly did all the decorations for our wedding.  She is now engaged, which is so exciting.  I think I’ve been wanting her to date/marry David (her now-fiance) since before I was born.

I also got to see Sarah who I met in college and can’t get enough of.  When I’m with her I’m always laughing and she’s always smiling, which is a fun combination.

DSC08295

Andrea, my first friend in college, drove from Fort Collins to see me on Monday as well.  We swaddled ourselves in blankets and caught up on life and the books we’ve been reading lately.  We are both readers and travellers and so many other things and I just love her so.

On Tuesday I went to school with my mom all day!  She’s a teacher, and a really good one at that.  I helped her out however I could and spent the day gluing, typing, scoring, printing, organizing, and telling children that I am indeed 22 years old (as opposed to the guesses – 13, 14, 17, 18, and 20 – made during one class).  Usually I’ve heard that you should be flattered when someone thinks you look younger than you really are, but 13?  No one looks good at 13.

I was supposed to see a dear friend and mentor after school, but due to the aforementioned weather, we decided to reschedule for our next Greeley trip.  Mysteridge joined us for dinner and it was then that we ate sweet potato quinoa chili, which happens to be one my personal favorite winter recipes.   It was also one of the first times my parents and Mysteridge had eaten quinoa, and my dad observed that it looks like gravel.  Well.  At least it doesn’t taste like it.

Speaking of my dad, I’ve been told that I should note that my dad is not actually a One Direction fan, as I have previously indicated that he is.  So I am taking this opportunity to declare, once and for all, in a very public way, that Tom Jones does not like One Direction.  There.  Any political aspirations he may have had have now been restored.

After much hemming and hawing, I decided to join Danny for a trip to our old stomping grounds, also known at the University Center at UNC.  We attended Christian Challenge, the ministry that changed our lives, both individually and collectively, while we were in college.  It was weird to be back but an overall good experience and a chance to see a few more friends and even meet a new one (Hi Shawna!).

Wednesday I found myself repeating Monday, except with different friends.  I got to see Shannon (not myself but a friend with the same name), a fine young lady that I discipled a couple of years back.  Now I feel like she is discipling me – she is so wise and thoughtful and is always challenging me, whether she knows it or not.  I am blown away by her.  Afterwards I got to see Amanda, who happens to be so very fun and joyful and the time I spend with her is always so life-giving.  She is a gift to me, and not only because we share an affinity for Kate Middleton (and so that you don’t automatically think she’s obsessive – like I might be – I will say that she is more of a passive Kate-lover).

We left for home not long afterwards but not before stopping by Taco Bell in hopes of encountering The Prettiest Taco Bell Employee Ever.

DSC08296

Our hopes were fulfilled.

En route to home, we went to Native Foods, which was fortunate because yesterday was free dessert day, and can you say PEANUT BUTTER PARFAIT?!  That was enough to fuel us for a trip to Anthropologie, also known as the place we accidentally committed a theft at.  Praise the Lord, we have not been banned from their store.  I returned a pair of pants to postpone the inevitable and then pulled out the ornament and confessed everything.  The kind employee laughed and said that I could just have it because of my honesty.  I didn’t feel right about that, so I paid for it, and in a moment of extreme self-control, left.  Yes, I left without even looking around.  Danny had a work meeting at 3pm in Colorado Springs and it was 2pm and we were in Denver…needless to say, we were in a big hurry.

I am so thankful for Danny’s job and the flexibility it affords us.  Being able to go to Greeley for a couple of days in the middle of the week was such a gift.  Staying with my parents is just the best and being able to see old friends everyday is a true gift – one that I won’t take for granted anytime soon.  And, because I’m apparently feeling really grateful and sentimental (and wishing everyday was like the days we spent in Greeley this week), I should note that we are so blessed with friends and family that know us and love us and make our lives better every time we’re together.  And also Sarah is the only person who asked if we could take a picture together, and obviously I said yes, and so that is why she is the only friend/family member pictured in this post.  Ask and you shall receive.

One thought on “in which we go to greeley

  1. I’m catching up on your posts and guess what? I’m eating sweet potato quinoa right now! Crazy, right? I don’t know what all goes into sweet potato quinoa chili, but I just made this up today. I cooked it in Swanson’s Thai ginger flavor infused broth. I just checked, and the broth is vegan as far as I can tell. You should check it out – it’s delicious!

Leave a Reply

