tuesday things

First off, y’all need to read this post.

Now that you’re done weeping all over your computer (which may or may not have happened to me the first two times I read it last night), wasn’t it beautiful?  Some of you know that Danny works for Compassion International, and that we live four minutes away from their headquarters.  He’s had the privilege of working for them for right around a month now, but he’s been involved with Compassion for much longer.  Since before I met him, he’s been sponsoring Amanuel, a young boy who lives in Ethiopia, through Compassion.  I’ve even had the opportunity to volunteer at Compassion since last April.  All that being said, we think it’s a pretty swell organization and it’s pretty close to our hearts, which is maybe why I loved Emily’s post so much.

Okay, now it’s time to spend some time on things a bit lighter…

Yesterday, in a moment in which I was able to harness all of my available will power, I took down our Christmas decorations and Christmas ornaments (Danny took down the lights and tree later when he got home from work).  Parting with the strands of cranberries and popcorn was especially difficult.  I know that some people might not understand why this may be, but I can assure you that those people did not spend half of December making said strands.  All that being said, the big gaping hole in our living room (and hearts) tells me that it is now officially January.  And Christmas needs to hurry up and come back.

Also, in case you were intrigued by the peanut butter parfait at Native Foods that I went on and on about on Sunday, I found a couple good looking replicas online.  You can check them out here or here or here (this one is even gluten-free).  Please don’t be scared away by the tofu.  I promise you won’t notice it – and that is coming from a tofu-hater.

I have also recently discovered that One Direction is popular in mainstream circles.  By that I mean, it is not just me, Danny, Dog, my cousins, and my-recently-converted-Dad (remember the Christmas miracle?).  There are some wacko pre-teen girls out there, too, but they do not count as “mainstream.”  Anyways, yesterday morning while we were at the gym, “Story of My Life” was playing on ESPN.  And not as a joke.  On Sunday night, “Kiss Me”  was on America’s Funniest Home Videos.  Again, not a joke.

It has also come to my attention that there’s a couple of photos that I forgot to share from our time in Denver this past weekend.  Including proof that Danny was also at Buffalo Bill’s grave, the clever towel arrangement in our hotel bathroom, and the cows next to the Denver Art Museum.

DSC08270

DSC08272

DSC08289

Two more things.

I just came across the most moving photo slideshow of shoes ever.  Seriously.  Check it out.  

Also, big news for vegans/almond milk lovers/anyone else who is still reading: TCBY is introducing a VEGAN vanilla soft serve at their U.S. stores today.

Which means I may need to buckle down and leave the house for the first time in two days in order to support this exciting new offering.

Leave a Reply

