the library, also known as your local adoption agency

Yesterday as I got to work, I noticed a kennel sitting by the front door of the library.  I approached it with a couple of co-workers and, unsurprisingly, there was a puppy inside!  We searched for a note of some kind, but nothing accompanied the German Shepherd mix aside from a baby blanket on the floor of his kennel.

I’m vegan.  Which is another way of saying, I am really into animals.  However, I knew that the puppy would be fine and could handle an hour or two in the kennel.  I started emptying the book drop and preparing the library for opening while my co-workers contacted their spouses and asked if they could adopt the dog.  Others concocted a makeshift leash out of yarn and tried to coax the dog to go for a walk.  Once we opened an hour later, essentially every single patron that came in asked about the dog.  Soon we started a list of potential adoptive families, as well as names for the pup: the frontrunner was, fittingly, Dewey.

Overall, everyone was upset that a young puppy would be abandoned outside the library.  But no one was as upset as one lady…“It’s SICK!  Just SICK!  What kind of SICK person would leave a dog like this?!  It’s so SICK!  So SICK!  Oh what a SICK person!”

It went on like this for at least five minutes.  And then, even though we had found a good home for the dog (and had three others on the waiting list), she took him (against the soon-to-be-owner’s wishes) to the vet for a quick check-up.

Meanwhile, the second-in-line-future-owners had gone to Petsmart to buy dog food.  They came back with the food, saw that the dog was gone, and became irate.  We explained that the dog had been taken to vet, so then the second-in-line-future-owners thought it would be a good idea to call the vet’s office and yell: “THAT LADY STOLE OUR DOG!!!”

(Which is not true at all.)

All that being said, it was a crazy day.  And I only worked a half-day on Saturday, because Danny and I were off to Denver for a belated first anniversary getaway.

We started out the trip with a bang, also known as a trip to Buffalo Bill Cody’s grave.  It was much less cool than I remember it being (I was somewhere around 10 the last time I visited, so that could be why), but it did include a nice view of Denver, albeit quite obstructed by the massive cell phone towers located just feet away.  I think it’s exactly as Buffalo Bill would have hoped.

DSC08271

Other highlights of the trip include a trip to Goodwill because Danny forgot shorts for our visit to the hotel gym.  While there we picked up a framed print of a zebra, a framed print of a lion, two books, and a DVD.  No shorts.

We also went to the Sherpa House for dinner.  It was here that I figured out that Golden (where the restaurant and our hotel are located) is kind of like a mix of Boulder and Manitou Springs: a progressive college town with plenty of hippies.  The food was good, especially the momo (reminiscent of Chinese dumplings) and kheer (rice pudding).  The atmosphere fit my description of the town.

DSC08277

After dinner we found ourselves at Target, again looking for athletic shorts for Danny.  We found some in the kids’ section and felt ready to carry on with our trip.

Our trip also included the best hotel breakfast I have encountered in America…fresh pineapple, blueberries, and raspberries, potatoes, and made-to-order oatmeal were my top picks.  Another highlight from the hotel was the sign on our bathroom mirror…

DSC08288

We also went to World Market and ended up buying all manner of excellently priced gems including two mesh strainers for $4 and a Kate Middleton calendar for $1.40.  Don’t worry; I bought one for Becca too.  We also acquired something I’ve been eyeing for months, and it’s awesome enough for me to take down one of our Christmas trees…

DSC08290

If our hotel breakfast was good, our lunch at Native Foods was indescribable.  Native Foods is a 100% plant-based (vegan) restaurant with eighteen locations across the U.S.  I’m not sure how I’ve been vegan for nineteen months and only went to Native Foods for the first time today, but it’s true.  I had a Portobello mushroom sausage burger with a side of sweet potato fries, and Danny had a chicken wrap.  We wrapped things up by sharing a peanut butter parfait.  And let me tell you, that peanut butter parfait was the best thing to happen thus far in 2014.  I’m telling you, it was GOOD.

Before I get caught up in the glory that was our peanut butter parfait, can we recognize Taylor Swift’s new hairstyle?  Maybe she’s had it for a while, but I just saw it for the first time at the Grammys tonight.  It is fabulous.  And then, after I typed those last couple sentences, she started throwing her head around and I gasped, because, HER HAIR!  She did it over and over, and when she finished it looked as good as ever.  Unreal.  If you can make my hair do that, please let me know.

Speaking of the Grammys, I need to say one more thing.  When “Brave” by Sara Bareilles didn’t win for best solo pop performance, I was devastated.  As much as I like “Royals,” (hello, Kate!) “Brave” saved my job.  Feeding the ducks (one of my duties at work) is a traumatic thing for me, and each time I have to do so, I sing “Brave” (well, actually I just sing “I wanna see you be brave!” over and over, but still) and inspire myself to do what I must do.  Thank you, Sara, and know that you have won the Grammy of my heart.

One thought on “the library, also known as your local adoption agency

  1. Pingback: a surplus of animals | pandasandlemons

Leave a Reply

