lately

Today is a very good day at our house.  It is Christmas time and our tree is more beautiful than ever before (Danny spent a good portion of his two sick days this week making popcorn and cranberry garlands).  Our stockings came in the mail today and we couldn’t be happier with them.  We’re getting ready to spend the weekend in Denver with my parents and Mysteridge.  Even more significantly, though, today Danny got a new job.  Which means I finally got to update our Christmas cards with “After Christmas Danny will start a new job…” and press ‘Order.’  So, in light of all that goodness, combined with the fact that I haven’t written a ‘lately’ post in quite some time, here’s a lil’ life update from us Everetts…

  • Danny will be starting a job at Compassion International in a couple weeks!  He has wanted to work for Compassion for as long as I can remember, so saying that this job is something we’ve prayed for and longed for and hoped for is an understatement.  Sooooo thankful for this huge, massive, exciting blessing.
  • In slightly related news, I still love my job at the Monument Library.  The staff is amazing and kind and I have been so loved by them since day one.  For example, today, when I got The Email from Danny (“I GOT THE JOB!!!!”), I went straight into my boss’ office and told her everything.  Months upon months of yearning for something else, for something new had come to an end and as tears welled up in my eyes, she rejoiced with me.  She celebrated Danny and his new job and for what it means for the two of us.  It was a sweet moment we shared together and I am so grateful I was led to this job.
  • We no longer have snowflakes on just our sliding glass door.  They now hang on our wall as well.  Because apparently I am married to one of the craftiest guys on the planet.  I already mentioned the cranberry and popcorn strands, and there was also the cinnamon ornaments we (and by we I mostly mean Danny) made and now there’s the snowflakes which are honestly incredible.  Like probably more intricate and impressible than real live snowflakes.

DSC08132^^ Action shot.  Also featuring the crazy snowy football game from last Sunday. ^^

  • Danny and I have been reading picture books together most evenings.  I love the illustrations, the simple stories that always have happy endings, and how it’s an easy way to spend time together.  Lately we’ve been reading books with a Christmas theme (try not to be surprised) but I’ve also been a panda kick recently, so if you need any recommendations in either one of those areas, I’m your girl.
  • Speaking of books, I have developed a serious problem.  Called “Since-I-Work-At-The-Library-And-Come-Across-Awesome-Looking-Books-Every-Five-Minutes-I-Take-Them-All-Home.”  This issue has resulted in us having 50+ books (from the library) in our possession right now.  Which in and of itself is not a bad thing, except that I read an average of 3 books in two weeks and books only check out for three weeks and you still have to follow all the rules and pay all the fines when you are a library employee…so I am going to run into some trouble before too long.  I either need to pick up the pace of my reading, or quit my job, read all the books, and then start working again once I’ve caught up.  Considering how much I love my job, it seems that the former option will probably be my only choice.  Either that or just give up altogether.
  • Do any of you remember how (weirdly) stoked I was for the opening of Bass Pro Shops?  The one that’s located across the street from our apartment?  I’m trying not to remember it because here is the truth: I was sorely disappointed.  I couldn’t believe I had let myself be so excited especially since as we drove up, even Danny said, “It’s like a beacon of hope.”  I know he was mostly referring to the impressive lights and strobes they had going on that night, but still.  He said it and I realized that was kind of what I had been thinking deep down.  It was only about 3% as awesome as I was hoping.

DSC08042^^ Danny’s highlight of our visit to Bass Pro Shops on its opening night ^^

DSC08043

^^ My favorite part was the Christmas tree. I guess I’m becoming too vegan for my own good. ^^

  • After a week of frigid temperatures and snow and ice and treacherous roads, the sun is out in full force.  Now if it could just stay out until Christmas Eve and hideaway until the 26th…I am certainly a sucker for a white Christmas.
  • Today I learned two things about the library while attending my first all-staff meeting, which was composed of around 400 library employees: one, library work is a female dominated field, and two, it is not a field of work that the young flock to.  I am undoubtedly the youngest person on staff in my whole library district, but no matter.  If you haven’t already gathered as much from how much I talk about it, I love my job.

Hopefully you haven’t been so bored by reading this post that you’re now considering a trip to Bass Pro Shops.  I’m telling you friends, now matter how much I may ramble on about my job or books or Christmas, it is better than Bass Pro.  Merry Christmas!

2 thoughts on “lately

  1. Hey, I am so behind on reading your blogs. Now I’m trying to go back from the most recent and catch up (so it’s good for my sake that you got a little behind in December. Not nearly as behind as I get on my blog, I might note.) I’m so excited to hear about Danny’s job at Compassion! What a fantastic blessing! We should all catch up sometime via phone or Skype or something. Love you guys!

    • Nikki! I was just thinking about y’all this morning and how someday when we’re in Chicago visiting my family, we should pop over to Indiana and see your sweet fam. I like your catching up idea…we should do it!

Leave a Reply

