days of thanks: 26 – 30

26. I’m thankful for traditions, like making gingerbread houses at Christmas time and going to the pumpkin patch in the fall.  I so treasure my family’s traditions that have been a part of my life for so long, and am now enjoying creating new ones with Danny, while incorporating and joining in on some old beloved ones.  Having something to look forward to, while years of tradition to look back on, is so fun.  And of course right now I’m getting excited for Christmas ones as it seems there are just so many!

27. I love taking pictures and being in pictures (sometimes) and hanging up pictures.  There’s something about photography that I love, and I’m so thankful for the photos I have of things as big as our wedding and as small as making snowflakes out of coffee filters…

DSC08097

28. Christmas.  I’m thankful for the day itself and what it means (JESUS!), but also for the season and the joy and wonder it brings.  You know I love Christmas trees based on yesterday’s post, but I also love the lights and music and snow and panda ornaments

29. After stepping into my new position at work a month ago, I found out that one of the ‘perks’ of the job is that I can’t take unpaid time off.  Ever.  This is rather frustrating to me, because I’d rather not get paid and be able to take off the occasional Saturday than have a very limited amount of time I can take off and get paid while doing it.  All my whining aside, it is nice to get paid when I’m not at work, like on holidays or this upcoming Saturday afternoon when we’ll join my family to volunteer at the Operation Christmas Child processing center and I’ll get paid for not working.  It’s a luxury many people don’t have, and it truly is a gift…so I’m thankful for benefits like paid time off.

30. Yesterday, December 3rd, Danny and I marked 11 months of marriage.  I’m thankful to have him as my partner and BFF and for the gift that marriage has been to us both.  And times like these…

DSC07722^^ This is from September, but I think any picture of Santa is appropriate at this time of year. ^^

Leave a Reply

