days of thanks: 7-12

I love looking for the bright spots in life, the little things and the big things, the insignificant and the unmistakable.

Here’s days 7 through 12 of my days of thanks this month…

7. I am so thankful for our juicer.  If I had someone to clean it for me, I would use it every single day.  I love the taste of fresh juice, and also the idea of drinking things (carrots, broccoli, celery, etc.) that I wouldn’t normally eat for breakfast.  And a shout out to apples, because they are undoubtedly my favorite thing to juice, plus they cover over a multitude of questionable flavors (including the aforementioned veggies).

8. About a month ago, I ran out of floss.  I didn’t get a chance to go to Target for a whole month, and so for a month, I didn’t floss.  I didn’t really think it was a big deal at the time, but once I restocked and got back in the habit, I found out that my gums were furious. For a week, my gums bled every night during and after flossing, and flossing became a painful, unpleasant experience.   Now, if for no other reason, I floss because it will hurt if I stop and then start again.  I am so thankful that I not only have (a three months’ supply of) floss, but also easy access to it.

9. I am grateful that we only live two hours away from ‘home.’  Home being my parents’ house.  I am so thankful we can go back for a weekend or in an unusual case, a day.  I am so thankful my parents are so welcoming and hospitable.  I am thankful for how my mom works so hard to find and use delicious vegan recipes even though they are definitely not vegan, and that my dad gladly eats them.  My parents’ house is a place of peace and rest and joy for me, and I love how accessible it is.

10. For the first nine-ish months of our marriage, I didn’t sleep through the night.  I don’t know if it was a mental thing (I’d never shared a bed – or really a bedroom for that matter -before) or the smell of male or being in a new place or what, but it was a real struggle and I was so frustrated by it.  For the past two-ish months, however, I have slept incredibly well…and through the night too.  After battling with sleep every night for months, I (hope I) will always be grateful for a solid, uninterrupted night of rest.

11. I am thankful for warm days in November.  Yesterday was a delight.  I walked outside without a coat of any kind and even kept the windows rolled down halfway as I drove home from work.  Of course, once the sun started setting, the temperature dropped quickly, but until then, I thoroughly enjoyed the warm sun.  Sometimes it’s the little things.

12.  Over the past week, I’ve realized that I have generous friends.  I’ve been given listening ears, open arms, welcoming homes, and available schedules.  Not to mention an unexpected Sprouts gift card in the mail and a few days later, an Olive Garden date night tucked into my purse!  These people, while not nearly as close (in proximity) as I would like, bless me deeply and encourage me greatly.

Leave a Reply

