eating lately

It’s fall now (it snowed yesterday, that’s how I know it’s fall), so this post will obviously be full of fall (aka pumpkin) goodness.  NOT.  If you’re new to this corner of the interwebs, you know that if I’m passionate about something, it’s that fall is not about pumpkin (food, patches, carving, etc).  Don’t get me wrong: I do love pumpkin (food, patches, carving, etc.) and that’s why there’ll be a pumpkin recipe or two featured here, but it’s because I was having a crisis, not because it’s fall.

Okay.  Now that that’s cleared up, onto the good stuff.  The latest and greatest food we’ve made in the past month…

Breakfast

Caramel Glazed Baked Donuts – These required a fair amount of effort.  More effort than I am typically willing to give for a Saturday morning breakfast.  However, they were delicious, and if you are willing to work for them, you should make these tasty treats.

Jam-Swirled Silver Dollar Pancakes – Oh goodness.  These hotcakes were a delight.  I loved the jam in them, and I topped mine with peanut butter.  I would like to note that it didn’t make enough to fill D and I up, so next time we may double it.

Pumpkin Donuts – We’re used to donuts with frosting.  These donuts didn’t come with a frosting recipe.  So Danny took the frosting recipe we usually use and did some magic on it, and before I knew it, we had pumpkin spice frosting.  So that was awesome.  But back to what we’re really talking about.  These donuts are delicious and solid and not all that unhealthy.  So if you’re one of those people who thinks you must eat pumpkin flavored treats all fall long, you should look to these fellas.

Pancakes with fruit compote – The other night I just knew we needed to have brinner (breakfast for dinner).  And I was right.  These pancakes are heavenly (and easy, to boot), and so is the compote.  I used a mix of frozen peaches and strawberries for the compote, and we had hash browns on the side.  For breakfast, lunch, and/or dinner, I recommend this meal.

Breads and Muffins

100% Whole Wheat No-Knead Make Ahead Dinner Rolls with Honey Butter – First things first with these rolls.  I have never had a ‘bad’ recipe from Averie @ Averie Cooks (the creator of this recipe).  So that makes me think that the reason these rolls turned out a little funky is because of an operator error.  For example, I was missing 1/4 teaspoon of the yeast the recipe called for.  I didn’t think it was enough to make a difference, but perhaps so.  Also, the rising didn’t really happen, so that’s what makes me think the additional yeast was necessary.  Anyways, the rolls were tasty, along with the honey butter, and Danny adored them.  Like, he was really, really into them.  So that’s good.

Desserts

Oatmeal Coconut Bars – I originally saw this recipe on the back of a carob chip (kind of like chocolate chips, but they’re made from carob and are vegan, unlike most chocolate chips) bag, and after I inadvertently threw the bag away, I found it on the world wide web.  There is no doubt these were delicious.  However, there is also no doubt that I did something wrong because they were so crumbly and messy, we had to eat them with a spoon.  No problem though.  If it tastes good, who cares if you have to use a spoon in addition to fingers?

Peanut Butter Cookies – My Pinterest comment for these cookies: “LOVE. THESE.”  And I think that about sums it up.  Also, the dash of cinnamon is sweet surprise.

Chocolate Chip Cookies – THESE ARE THE BEST COOKIES I HAVE EVER HAD.  And a non-vegan told me they were better than ‘regular’ chocolate chip cookies.  So that’s something.  I have made these once a week since discovering their awesomeness.  You should try them too.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bars – Another pumpkin recipe, I know.  Regardless of the season, though, listen up: I ate 90% of these in under 24 hours.  They use whole wheat pastry flour.  They are maybe (definitely) the most delightful bar treat I’ve ever made/eaten.

Actual Food

Quick Hummus and Vegetable Stuff Pitas – These seemed so good on paper.  Yet somehow they weren’t that awesome in real life.  Danny, in particular, didn’t like them.  Which is so peculiar to me as he is the guy who likes ‘cheese’ made out of soybeans and ‘turkey’ made out of tofu, but apparently not a pita full of fresh veggies.  I don’t know…different strokes for different folks.

Hearty White Bean Spinach Soup with Rosemary and Garlic – All of these soups happened that week it was cold.  Not the week we went swimming (outdoors) and then two days later it snowed.  The other week.  Anyways, I noted that this one was pretty easy to make and tasty too.

Creamy Potato Soup – Just another delightful rainy day recipe.  Except if you don’t cook the potatoes all the way through.  That made this soup kind of a bummer as I felt the need to fish out all of the potato chunks because I just couldn’t handle their crunchiness.  Later on Danny tried to boil them and put them back into the soup.

Corn Chowder – I know this is a good recipe because I’ve made it twice in two weeks.  Easy peasy, and tasty too.  Also, all of the ingredients are simple and ordinary, even for a non-vegan.

Spicy Sun-Dried Tomato Soup with White Beans and Swiss Chard – I know the name is a mouthful, but it’s worth stumbling over.  I was looking for a way to use the massive amount of homegrown Swiss chard my grandparents gave us a few weeks ago, and was thankful for this guy.  Quite delicious!

***All recipes listed are vegan.

Leave a Reply

