you give and take away

We have been given so many things.  Innumerable gifts and blessings that we have not deserved.

DSC02467

Recently, however, we have come to see many of those taken away, and it is painful.

Our best friends in Colorado Springs just announced on Friday that they’re moving to Boise.

The church we had settled at and begun calling our home has been a source of question and confusion for us lately.

My only friends close to my age in the area were suddenly transferred, and I’ve only been able to see them twice in the past two months.

My volunteering positions that had been so rewarding and worthy of my time have been frustrating and I’ve been wondering if what I am doing makes a difference, and if I should continue giving away so much of my time to these causes.

The dreams we carried with us as we moved to Colorado Springs have slowly faded as we have doubted our purpose and place here, asking ourselves how we fit in and how we can best glorify God in this season filled with a fair amount of pain and struggle.

DSC02294

It’s hard to understand why such good gifts of friends and community and so much more cannot stay with you forever.

It’s times like these when I hear these words echo in my heart,

“The Lord gave and the Lord has taken away;

may the name of the Lord be praised.”

{Job 1:21}

And I find such joy in them, knowing that He is good, and He is knowing, and He is purposeful.

DSC02460

I cling to words of truth, to promises that are so much bigger than the long hours, the passing days, and this vapor of a life I am living.

“He has made everything beautiful in its time.

He has also set eternity in the human heart;

yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end.”

{Ecclesiastes 3:11}

I long for heaven, for the time when goodness will not be taken away, when I will understand these times of pain and questioning, and when my faith will become sight.

DSC02490

You know those times when extra hugs are nice, as are moments of quiet and times of rest?  Not to mention walks in the woods and kind words from unexpected places?  Reassurances of who you are and what you’re doing?  And maybe some warm chocolate chip cookies too?  Yeah.  Now is that time for us.

We’re looking forward to two upcoming trips we have planned in the next couple of weeks.  Things will be quieter around here as we enjoy family time in San Diego and a few days later, in Alaska on a big, beautiful boat (okay, maybe more of a ship).  Time to soak in beauty and rest in who we are in Christ and understand more fully the gifts we’ve been given that will never, ever fade away.  The lovingkindness that will not and cannot be taken away, the truth that will never not be true, and every spiritual blessing that is our in Christ Jesus.

Grace and blessings and all of the goodness that Christ offers that will never be taken away…may they be yours today and everyday.

***All pictures are from my family’s 2007 trip to Oregon and Washington.

Leave a Reply

