happy birthday pop!

Today is my dad’s birthday!  Yahoo!

Everett-0915

If you know my family, you know a few things about my dad: he’s funny, he’s quiet, and he has amazing eyes.  You might know other things too, but those are the first three things that came to my mind (that other people might think of too).  However, today I’m going to touch on some of the not-so-commonly known facts.

IMG_9680

My dad is a very hard worker.  He is industrious and always looking for something he can fix or repair or improve.  He keeps the house clean, the cars in tip-top shape, and the yard looking pretty.  I so respect the way he takes initiative and does things, both big and little, without being asked.  Clearing the table, cleaning the bathrooms, putting out the trash…and those are just the tiniest tip of the iceberg. If you get a chance to spend a few days at my parents’ house, you’ll understand.  And you’ll wish your husband/dad/brother/uncle/significant male in your life was as hard of a worker as he is.

Everett-0737

^^ Walking up the aisle after our wedding.  I’m not sure who this intense game face was for (maybe Danny?), but I hope they got a kick out of it! ^^

I know I mentioned it earlier, but my dad is seriously hilarious.  I just talked to him on the phone, and he told me that the hotel they’re staying at tonight (my parents + Mysteridge are on their way to spend a week in Branson, or Las Vegas for families, as my mom calls it, and are somewhere in Kansas along I-70) is pretty sketchy and someone will probably get jumped soon.  He’s a funny guy, even when he’s telling the truth.  I am always laughing when I am around my dad, and I love it.

Everett-0630

My dad cares for me deeply.  We may not talk on the phone often or email back and forth throughout the day (both things my mom and I do) or send each other text messages (did you really think he has a cell phone?!), but I know that he loves me very much.  He tells me that he is proud of me and that he loves me, and that means a lot to me.  Many people grow up never hearing their parents say either one of those things, but I have been blessed to hear those things often.  Another way I know he loves me a lot: he cried almost as much as me on our (and by our I mean Danny and me) wedding day.

IMG_9924

My dad is married to my mom, and has been for 25, almost 26 years.  WHAT?!  If I knew my mom (and you can read about her here), but not my dad (and wasn’t their daughter), I would assume that he was amazing.  Because my mom is, and anyone married to her must be pretty great.  And I’m right.  I know that’s crazy weird logic, but it makes sense in my head.  Ask me if you need me to verbally explain it to you ;)

Everett-0629

My dad is faithful.  He is dedicated to his family, both immediate and extended, he is (very, very) good at his job, and he is involved in his church.  He stewards what he has been given well.  He has so many admirable characteristics, and I want to be like him.  Whenever I am sluggish about washing the towels or the dishes or the sheets, I think about my dad.  Because he taught me to take initiative and just do it, whatever it is, and do it well.  I greatly respect him and who is and who he is becoming.

IMG_9859

I am sad that I cannot be with my family at the sketchy hotel in Kansas tonight.  Sad that I didn’t get to eat the, in my dad’s own words, “miserable” food at Spangles and sing “Happy Birthday” to him in person.  Sad that I didn’t get to give him his birthday card (that instead is waiting for him at the post office) or his gift today.  However, I am loving him and praying for him from afar, and I am glad that he is with two people he loves very much.  And I am glad that Mysteridge is there to ward off scary fellas that may try to jump them.

*** All photos courtesy of Caroline Leigh Photography.  Check her out – she rocks.

Leave a Reply

