our wedding: first look

{I am going to be really honest in this post, just so you know}

I had never wanted to do a ‘first look’ before our wedding…I wanted to see Danny for the first time when I walked down the aisle.  However, we can’t always get what we want.  Or something like that.  Our decision was based on time and what would be the most efficient way to manage it on our wedding day.  We didn’t want to take many pictures after our wedding, since we weren’t having appetizers or a cocktail hour at our reception, so we took all of our pictures (aside from extended family shots) beforehand.  Thus requiring a first look.

Everett-0342

Although doing a first look wasn’t my first choice, some amazing photos came out of it.  I will always be thankful for the beauty that Caroline captured during our first look.  Libby stayed with Danny while Caroline drove me from the church to a beautiful little tunnel/walkway in downtown Greeley, just a block or two from the church.

Everett-0347

Everett-0360

Everett-0364

Everett-0372Can I tell you something I longed for in our first look?  I wanted it to be an intensely emotional moment – in other words, I just wanted Danny to cry when he saw me for the first time.

Everett-0373

Everett-0385Well, he didn’t cry.  And so I cried and felt sad.  In my head, I decided that I wasn’t beautiful enough, and that’s why he didn’t cry.  True story.  My face in this picture is proof…

Everett-0389Once I got over myself and decided to enjoy the moment for what it was, we were able to really enjoy the moment.

Everett-0387

Everett-0406

Everett-0398

Everett-0437This blue wall…to die for.  Caroline is a genius.

Everett-0461

Everett-0466Isn’t St. Pat’s (the church where we got married) absolutely beautiful?!

Everett-0475So there you have it.  The highlights (and low points) of our first look.  Regardless of my (unmet) expectations, Danny and I were able to share some very special moments together, and Caroline was able to capture our time together beautifully.  Looking back, I am thankful for our first look, and for the time we had just the two of us, in the midst of an otherwise very busy and people-filled day.  I don’t recommend a first look for everyone, but I do think it can be a great and memorable part of a wedding day.  This is the blog post I read about first looks that convinced me that it could be an okay thing (also I think the pictures in the post explain why I was anticipating our first look to be full of drama and emotions).  I highly, highly recommend the article (written by a wedding photographer) if you are contemplating doing a first look and something more traditional (like seeing each other at the altar for the first time).

You can view the first three posts in the series about our wedding here (gifts and registering), here (preparations), and here (getting ready).

***All photographs courtesy of Caroline Leigh Photography.

2 thoughts on “our wedding: first look

  1. Pingback: our wedding: bridal party | pandasandlemons

  2. Pingback: our wedding: ceremony | pandasandlemons

Leave a Reply

