eating lately

It’s time for my monthly post of what we’ve been enjoying (in the realm of food) lately.

Desserts

  • PB & J cookies from The Vegan Cookie Connoisseur.  I made these for Danny’s bachelor party back in December and apparently they were a hit (I wasn’t there).  He requests them frequently, and I gave in and made them for the Rockies game we attended with my family.  Delicious as usual.
  • Chocolate chip banana cookies.   I made these, along with lemon cookies (below), for our last meeting with the sisters (Mormon missionaries), and they were very popular.  These cookies are seriously amazing, and I wish I could make them more often, but bananas go so quickly in our house that ripe ones are often hard to come by.  These were probably my top dessert of the past month.
  • Lemon cookies.  These were also for the meeting with our Mormon missionaries, and were not quite as good as the banana chocolate chip ones, but still yummy.  They didn’t come out too lemon-y (I adore lemon, as evidenced by the title of my blog), but were tasty nonetheless.
  • Ridiculously Easy Chocolate Cake.  I made this for dinner (dessert) with our new friends Brenna and Darren, and it was a (minor) success.  The center of my cake caved in a bit, and my glaze wasn’t smooth.  Plus I tried to use unsweetened chocolate (with a few tablespoons of sugar added to it) instead of bittersweet chocolate (as the recipe requested) to avoid a trip to the store.  In the center, bites consisted of about half cake and half frosting, which, in my book (and especially when the glaze/frosting is sub-par) is never good.  The edges were good, and I’m looking forward to working on perfecting this recipe and my glaze making skills.
  • Peanut Butter Chocolate Cupcakes.  These can be done two ways: pb cupcakes with chocolate frosting or chocolate cupcakes with pb frosting.  Kristen and I made the pb cupcakes with chocolate frosting version and…oh my.  Delicious!  There is rolled oats in the cupcakes, and I so love the texture of them in these cupcakes.

Cupcakes in progress…

dog, hard at work

Our finished product.  Happy Birthday, Kristen (Dog)!

happy birthday dog!

  • Peanut Butter Chocolate Cookies.  I made these for our dinner with Chris and Emily and they were great.  The peanut butter with chocolate is unusual in a cookie, at least in my experience, so these are a sweet surprise.

Sides

  • Lemon Rosemary Coconut Oil Roasted Vegetables.  The name is a handful, but the vegetables are a taste treat sensation.  Danny’s not a huge veggie fan, but this method of ‘cooking’ certainly did the trick.  We ate them along with peanut noodles (below) for dinner with our friend Chris (husband of Emily and dad of Hendon, both of whom were out of town at the time).  Mmm.  I highly recommend this recipe and hope to make it often.
  • Sweet Potato French Fries.   I intended to make these as a side for dinner one evening, but overlooked the fact that they needed some time in the oven, so we ate them as a snack while we watched a movie.  These are very easy and yet very good.
  • Oven Roasted Garlic Green Beans.  Aside from all the time it takes to trim these bad boys, these green beans are an easy and tasty side dish.  I’ve already made them twice in the past two weeks, and plan to keep it up!
  • Hasselback Potatoes.  I decided to give these a try with a fruit-based dinner, along with the green beans (above), and they were marginally successful.  I’m mentioning them because they have so much potential, and we ate them all anyways, so they must be okay!  I really struggled to not cut all the way through the potatoes but after baking they looked almost as pretty as the picture on the website.  Also, I didn’t cook them for long enough.  Now I know, though, and we’ll come back to these again soon, I would guess.
  • Corn on the cob.  So I didn’t really do much for this, I just put two ears of  corn, husk and all, in the oven, and after 25 minutes they emerged juicy and ready to eat.  Plus this method of cooking makes taking the husk/silk off a breeze too.  I definitely recommend this method of making corn on the cob.  We have done it two nights in a row so far…

Actual Food

  • Chinese Noodles and Broccoli in Peanut Sauce.  This meal is easy and reminds of so much of Chiner.  I think I used too many noodles, but it turned out fine.  This will definitely become a favorite go-to recipe in our house.
  • Black Bean Burgers.  I didn’t make the slaw or the sauce that the recipe mentions, but I did make the burgers, much to our tummy’s delight.  Everything is done in the food processor, aside from a bit of chopping and measuring, which makes this recipe a cinch.  We toasted our buns for a couple of minutes before eating – one of our (okay, the recipe’s) best ideas yet.  And for what it’s worth, Danny gave these five stars.
  • Pasta Salad.  Many months into our friendship, I finally made dinner for Chris and Emily (+ Hendon), and this was my pick.  It turned out well, and was awfully simple too!  Everyone liked it and Em even asked for the recipe!  Plus we have tooooons of leftovers.

Snacks

  • No-Bake Energy Bites.   These are almost identical to our favorite energy bite recipe, but with fewer coconut flakes.  I made these for Danny and Chris’ mountain biking adventure, and they are good.  A good alternative when I don’t have enough coconut flakes, if I have to (I’m just so loyal to our original recipe).
  • Banana Bread.  I made this for our first visit with the elders (Mormon missionaries) since I felt like we’d been having dessert non-stop.  Despite being healthy tasting, it is quite good, especially with all the walnuts.  Oh, and it uses only whole wheat pastry flour, which is always a good thing.

Breakfast

  • Cinnamon rolls with maple icing.  I made these on a lazy Saturday morning and thanks to my lack of reading directions beforehand, we ended up eating them for lunch, as they took about three hours (the dough needed to rise a couple of times).  Delicious, but not too fun since we had to wait for them all morning!
  • Banana Oatmeal Pancakes.  I love trying new pancake recipes, while Danny likes finding a solid recipe (our go-to recipe) that we make over and over.  Well, this was one of the Saturdays that I tried a new one, and it went quite well!  Ordinary ingredients, easy prep, and a delicious final product!
  • Pineapple coffee cake.  I’d been wanting to make this for a while, but was waiting to buy some applesauce as the recipe requires it.  Of course, I love the fact that the only flour it uses is whole wheat, and how it is delicious but not over the top sweet, and is pretty healthy too.

As usual, most of our dinners are from The Vegan Menu, and our lunches are leftovers of those meals.  That would be why it looks like I made dinner only twice this month.  Also, it looks like we eat tons of dessert, but I only make it for special occasions  like having friends over or something unusual like that.

***All recipes listed are vegan.

One thought on “eating lately

Leave a Reply

