happy birthday moth

Today is my mom’s birthday!  Hip hip hooray!

IMG_9960

To be honest, I don’t know where to start.  How can I describe the person that she is (at least for the 21ish years I’ve known her) and how I love her and what she means to me?  I simply cannot do her justice.

Everett-0715

My mom (or Moth – not pronounced like the annoying butterfly imposter, however – as Mysteridge and I affectionately call her) has taught me a great deal about faith in God and following Jesus, and for that I am eternally grateful.  She has prayed for me every day since before I was born (and probably even before) and was with me when I gave my life to the Lord.  Speaking of which, her prayer life is admirable and I am deeply thankful for how she has prayed for my pain and healing for years.  She is faithful in spending time with the Lord each morning, and she has shown me by example how to put Him first.

Everett-0566

Her actions speak the very loudest to me.  She is faithful and caring in friendships, even those that are not always rewarding and take a lot of perseverance.  She is also selflessly dedicated to her family – and not just my dad, brother, and me.  She even donated one of her kidneys to my grandma!  There is no doubt that my mom has a servant’s heart.  Her family is a living testimony to her life of service for others, and we are better because of it.

Everett-1112

Her words are also not unnoticed.  As Proverbs 31:26 says, “she speaks with wisdom, and faithful instruction is on her tongue.”  How true these words are of my mom.  She encourages me, offers thoughtful words of advice, and affirms me often.  Back in the days when she packed my lunch, she always wrote me a note, often on my napkin, of love and encouragement.  When I went to a friend’s house for a sleepover or on a church retreat/summer camp, I always found a note in my bag.  Even now, the tears are flowing down my cheeks as I think of her faithful, thoughtful expressions of love throughout my life.  How I wish I still have some of those notes of old.

Everett-0199

Oftentimes, I want to move back to Greeley so that I can see her more often.  Take walks with her, eat dessert with her, go to the grocery store with her, live life together.  The way she treasures me and our family astounds me.  How I regret all the times in high school (or earlier) that I was ‘too cool’ to be with my parents.  Are you kidding me?!  Now there are few other things I would rather do than just hang out with my mom.  She has always respectfully pursued me – given me space when I wanted or needed it, but has always been then for when I come to my senses and realize that being with her is about as good as it gets.

IMG_9859

As I grow older, the more I realize how much I want to be like my mom.  Faithful, caring, loving.  Her life has shown me what is good, and I want it.

IMG_9723

***All photographs courtesy of Caroline Cutshall of Caroline Leigh Photography.  Isn’t she incredible?!  We will treasure these photos forever.

4 thoughts on “happy birthday moth

  1. WOW!! I didn’t even know any of these things about your mom! Golly, she’s an inspiration to me as well from just reading this post.
    I love how she used to plant little notes of encouragement in your lunch boxes. That’s awesome! I want to do that for my children.
    I hope your mom saw this post, I’m sure it would bring her to tears of joy!

  2. Pingback: the third weekend in april | pandasandlemons

  3. Pingback: happy birthday pop! | pandasandlemons

Leave a Reply

