the incline

A couple of weeks ago, it was suggested by two separate people (Rachel, Danny’s sister, and Kristen, one of our good friends), that we hike The Incline.  I have always had a vague idea of what The Incline entails, and have thus never had a desire to have any part of climbing it.  However, these two people, both of whom are very important to D and I, are very persuasive and so, we did as they suggested.

We didn't read this sign, aside from "This is an EXTREME trail" until afterwards, which is a real pity.

We didn’t read this sign, aside from “This is an EXTREME trail” until afterwards, which is a real pity, seeing how we did not go “UPHILL ONLY,” but rather attempted to go downhill too…which was very scary and resulted in a few injuries and mishaps along the way.

As the time for our trek drew nearer, I tried to find reasons why I couldn’t do it.  It was too far of a drive.  I wasn’t feeling well (technically true, but this pain hasn’t stopped me from doing other similarly crazy things in the past five-ish years, so…).  We didn’t have bread for sandwiches.  Danny likes to play football with friends on Saturday afternoons.  Many people have died on The Incline (It is possible I created this fact myself).  Those kind of statements went through my head all week.

What this sign says is "1,795 (steps) of 2,691 = ~ 900 to go"

What this sign says is “1,795 (steps) of 2,691 = ~ 900 to go”

Our trekking companions, however, were very determined to conquer this beast of a trail.  It would be incorrect to call it a hike, as it is only steps.  Literally.  Only steps.  2,691 of them actually.  The Incline was built as a cable car to carry materials to Pikes Peak, and after the work was done, it became a tourist attraction.  I am sort of confused as to what kind of tourist would be attracted to climb The Incline, but there are many things in life I don’t understand, and I guess this is one of them.  Anyways, for information, you can check out this site, or this one, for pictures, horror stories, and a bit of background info.

Our looks of pep and excitement make sense only when it is understood that the photo occurred before we began the climb.

Our looks of pep and excitement make sense only when it is understood that the photo occurred before we began the climb.

Once we arrived at the base, I was shocked.  I had seen photos, but in person, The Incline was so much more intense.  And you see the top of the ‘hill’ behind us?  Well that is a false summit.  Boo.

Look at my handsome hubs, pointing out all the beauty we had to behold.

Look at my handsome hubs, pointing out all the beauty we had to behold!

As we took (frequent) breaks, we had a chance to look around and see that, wow, we were in the middle of a beautiful area.  Although, let’s be honest.  For most of the time, all I saw was the steps in front of me and my water bottle because I was really concerned with surviving.

Rachel's pep continued throughout the hike.  Like a boss.

Rachel’s pep continued throughout the hike. Like a boss.

Unfortunately, we forgot to time how long it took us to get to the top.  My best guess, though, is between an hour and fifteen minutes and an hour and a half.

Danny decided that taking of his shirt for a pose on top of a rock was an excellent idea, so his Rachel (although you can see that she remained clothed) decided to follow suit, making for a very epic photo.

Danny decided that taking of his shirt and doing this precarious pose on top of a rock was an excellent idea, so Rachel (although you can see that she remained clothed) decided to follow suit, making for a very epic photo.

At the top, we searched for a good spot to enjoy our PB & J’s (thanks, Rach, for looking out for us vegans) and not move.  It was a very welcome extended break, and a nice chance to chat a bit, since on the way up our talking was limited to, “Are you okay?”, “Should we keep gong?”, and “This is terrible.”

Kristen was the champion of the peace/victory sign during our trek.  If her outward appearance was a bit different, I might think she was Asian.

Kristen was the champion of the peace/victory sign during our trek. If her outward appearance was a bit different, I might think she was Asian.

We took a lot of pictures, as that was the only way I agreed to the climb.  Unfortunately I cannot post all of the awesome-ness here, but (most of) the rest will be on my Facebook page soon-ish.

The sun was really bright from the very top, thus, Rachel came to the rescue of our eyes and made the photo superb.

The sun was really bright from the very top, thus, Rachel came to the rescue of our eyes and made the photo superb while doing so.

So, you (strange tourist/friend/family member/local) may ask, should I climb The Incline?  I’m guessing that I haven’t been very convincing, with all my talk of it being a beast and very extreme, but I would conclude, that yes, you should do The Incline.  But only if you are physically fit and in a position to climb 2,600+ steps while gaining 2,100 feet in elevation.  It is intense and the feeling of accomplishment is great, as are the views, but I declare, it is not for everyone.  Truly.  I am thankful that we persevered and brought a lot of water and that Kristen knows some first aid, because it was worth it (for me, at least).  I climbed The Incline, and although I am still sore four days later, I climbed The Incline!!  Planning visit?  Let me know, and I’ll do it with you!

What champions.  Nice work, Team Everett + Davis!

What champions. Nice work, Team Everett + Davis!

4 thoughts on “the incline

  1. Aw, so proud of you guys. I want to do it! But I better wait a little while. My doctor might not approve at this point in time. I wonder if anyone has ever climbed The Incline while over 8 months pregnant?

  2. sign me up for an incline date with you! I love doing the incline. My brother and I time ourselves for an hour hike up and a 20 minute run down the barr trail. It is wonderful! :) I would love to adventure with you!

  3. So I wanted to let you know that after reading this, I dreamed that Michael and I climbed the Incline. While I was pregnant. And I was wearing a full-sized backpack. And it was thunder storming. We crawled up on our hands and knees. Great idea. Then we went back down the other trail (which happened to be a tunnel through a jungle). I shook hands with the trunk of a miniature elephant. When we got to the bottom, we were at the ocean, which was small and perfectly round, like an artificial pond, but full of sharks and fish. And I had to wash cloth diapers in it, but didn’t know how to wash them and didn’t want to get eaten by the sharks. My subconscious is very strange indeed.

Leave a Reply

