Easter: Throwback to 2012

Today is what I typically call “my best day.”  It is cloudy and gloomy and foggy and it looks like raindrops could fall any minute.  They probably won’t, but I’m content just to be inside, snuggled up in bed with my green tea and the opportunity to look out the window every few minutes.  I love this sort of weather.

As we were headed up to Greeley to spend Easter weekend with my family, my sweet friend Shannon reminded me of last Easter!  That day was seriously one of my favorite days.  Ever.  It wasn’t cloudy or gloomy or soon-to-be-rainy, in fact, it was actually very sunny and the weather was quite warm.  However, it was so beautiful.  There were about 20 college students gathered at my parents’ home after we all went to church together, and we enjoyed a feast of brunch foods (once again, my mom is a champion), egg dyeing, and even a game of  baseball at my elementary school down the street.

I looked through the pictures I have of last year’s celebration to relive some of its beauty, and thought I’d share a few.

Friends from around the world...Japan, France, China, and Thailand.

Friends from around the world…Japan, France, China, and Thailand.

Mon, a graduate student from Thailand blessed us with her fruit carving skills and put together a masterpiece of apples and melons, and even taught Shan a few things, too.

Mon, a graduate student from Thailand blessed us with her fruit carving skills and put together a masterpiece of apples and melons, and even taught Shan a few things, too.

Look at these handsome men!  This was also the day that things went awry with Danny's haircut...I think it's cute, but he was a bit distraught.

Look at these handsome men! This was also the day that things went awry with Danny’s haircut…I think it’s cute, but he was a bit distraught.

This was also one of the weekends I was dog sitting Brian.  This wasn't the time he escaped (that was the 4th of July), rather, it was the time my family first fell in love with him.

This was also one of the weekends I was dog sitting Brian. This wasn’t the time he escaped (that was the 4th of July), rather, it was the time my family first fell in love with him.

Here you can view the males of the gathering as well as the carved fruit.  And Pekong.  Oh, and a better view of D's haircut.

Here you can view the males of the gathering as well as the carved fruit. And Pekong. Oh, and a better view of D’s haircut.

While the most noticable part of this photo is Tim's face, it is not the reason I posting it.  This photo shows the beginning of the egg dyeing festivities.  My parents are seriously champions to let all this go down on their dining room table.

While the most noticeable part of this photo is Tim’s face, it is not the reason I posting it. This photo shows the beginning of the egg dyeing festivities. My parents are seriously champions to let all this go down on their dining room table.

I love this photo.  Look at Crystal and Ines, two of my best friends who also happen to be international students.  Crystal is from China and is ridiculous (in the best way possible).    We loved baking together while she studied at UNC, and created one of the most memorable moments of the day - when we played baseball, as she hit the ball and ran to first base, she shouted, "Go China!"  Incredible.  I was Ines' international ambassador while she studied at UNC in the spring of 2012, and she is such a sweetheart.  I love Skyping with her and hearing about her life as an intern for Nestle in Paris, and I dream of visiting her someday soon.  Her most recent news?  She's going to study abroad in CHINA next year.

I love this photo. Look at Crystal and Ines, two of my best friends who also happen to be international students. Crystal is from China and is ridiculous (in the best way possible). We loved baking together while she studied at UNC, and created one of the most memorable moments of the day – when we played baseball, as she hit the ball and ran to first base, she shouted, “Go China!” Incredible. I was Ines’ international ambassador while she studied at UNC in the spring of 2012, and she is such a sweetheart. I love Skyping with her and hearing about her life as an intern for Nestle in Paris, and I dream of visiting her someday soon. Her most recent news? She’s going to study abroad in CHINA next year.

The day before (Saturday), we had my mom’s side of the family (minus her sister and her family who live in Vancouver) over to celebrate Easter.  Oftentimes, we celebrate Mysteridge’s birthday at the same time (when it falls close to Easter), hence the cake in front of him.

This was the 'kids' photo that Uncle John insisted on being in.

This was the ‘kids’ photo that Uncle John insisted on being in (he is my mom’s brother, and not a grandchild of my grandparents like the rest of us – minus Danny – are).

And the traditional family pose.  Unfortunately we forgot to do some of these this year :(

And the traditional family pose. Unfortunately we forgot to do some of these this year :(

I love looking back on sweet days like this these and remembering the blessings and goodness we’ve been given throughout the years.  Looking forward to many more joy-filled Easter celebrations in years to come!

Leave a Reply

