easter weekend 2013

This past weekend, D and I went back to Greeley for the weekend.  It was splendid.

On Friday, we left around 4:00 in the afternoon, and after hitting a good amount of traffic, we made it to a Bible study for international students that we were a part of before moving to the Springs.  Goodness gracious, it was good to be back!  It was a big group (due to Easter!) and we had quite a feast.  Lamb (well, not for us vegans), asparagus, mashed potatoes, white rice (the Bible study is mostly made up of students from Asia…like 96% probably), and some salads that will remain unidentified but be remembered as delicious.  We sang worship songs in our typical karaoke style, including one of my favorites from our Bible study days, Wonderful, Merciful Savior.  It was so precious to see so many of our friends and catch up on life.  Hopefully we convinced a few to come visit us once the semester is over too!

We stayed with my parents and brother while we were in town, which was such a gift.  There was plenty of cautious-vegan-food-eating (for my Dad), Harlem Shake videos for us ‘kids,’ and Trivial Pursuit and a trip to Chili’s for us all.  It was the first time Danny and I had stayed at my parents’ house together, as it was our first trip back to Greeley together since our marriage, and it was real fun.  I had been living in the guest room for the five months before we got married, and couldn’t wait to share it with him, so this was a big weekend for us!  Ha.  My parents were so sweet and sensitive to our vegan ways and were even really good about sharing us with other people!  I got to see my BFF, Andrea, on Saturday morning, while D saw Kyle, and in the evening we went to hang out with our newly engaged friends, Tom and Tasha (they are the best ever, by the way.  If you plan to get married in a shed – like they do – you are seriously legit).  Going back to church at Christ Community was also a highlight.  We love our new church, but it just won’t ever be the same.  We love us some Pastor Alan.

Sunday brought Easter, of course.  In the past, Easter has involved going to church in the morning, having lunch with my mom’s family in the afternoon, dyeing Easter eggs later on, and finishing the day off with a flashlight Easter egg hunt and a scavenger hunt for our Easter baskets.  This year, we slept in, ate breakfast, read the newspaper, and prepared food for the family gathering (and had like four hours to do all that in = relaxing).  Plus there was a ping pong tournament for D and Mysteridge, and a trip to Sprouts for me.  {Sidenote: Best trip to Sprouts since moving to the Springs.  No lines at the checkout, two carts full of clearance items, awesome prices on flour, and best of all, no bumper carts, since there were only about three other people in the store.}  I made cranberry couscous for us vegans (and anyone else who cared to try something out of the ordinary) while my mom whipped up like seven things in about an hour.  She’s amazing.  We even squeezed in a game of Bananagrams before we headed out the door for Arvada (my grandparents’ place of residence) which made us a lil’ bit late, but it was obviously worth it since I won.

On our way to Arvada, I realized I hadn’t taken any pictures all weekend.  Whaaaaaaaaaat?!  Clearly this weekend couldn’t go down as The First Weekend of Marriage That I Took Zero Pictures, so this is what I came up with:

This was at a stoplight, I promise.  Also the loofah is placed in such a prime location because I forgot it at the last minute and ran in the house to get it.  It was still wet (from my shower) so the rearview mirror seemed like a good choice for drying and sanitation, all at the same time.

This was at a stoplight, I promise. Also the loofah is placed in such a prime location because I forgot it at the last minute and had to run in the house to get it. It was still wet (from my shower) so the rear view mirror seemed like a good choice for both drying and sanitation, all at the same time.

This is my brother Mysteridge in the backseat.

This is my brother Mysteridge in the backseat, with my flour from Sprouts.

Danny's face, up close and personal

Danny’s face, up close and personal

Same caption as the last photo.

Same caption as the last photo.

And then it was Mysteridge's turn.

And then it was Mysteridge’s turn.

Angle #2

Angle #2

Pretty cool, huh?  {Just in case you were wondering, a child did not take these photos, it was me.  I was not trying to be artistic, I was trying to be funny.  Sometimes those can be confused.}

Yeah, so we made it to my grandparents’ house after passing my parents’ on the highway and had more vegetables at one meal than I’ve  had at any other meal in my whole life (yes, this is a good thing.  A very good thing).  It was great to see everyone and enjoy some very, very delicious food, and talk about our upcoming family cruise to ALASKA together (Less than three months away!  Woohoo!).

D and I left a little after 5pm and made it back home in no time.  It was still beautiful outside, so we went for a walk in the lovely (dead) field beside our apartment complex.  This time, Danny caught my excitement for the camera, resulting in the following…

It goes without saying that we took this photo ourselves and D stretched out his arm to do it.  Keepin' it classy.

It goes without saying that we took this photo ourselves and D stretched out his arm to do it. Keepin’ it classy.

This is just a few steps from where we live.

This is just a few steps from where we live.

So super blessed.  This is Danny's masterpiece, by the way :)

So super blessed. This is Danny’s masterpiece, by the way : )

Of course, we each had to pose for a solo shot.

Of course, we each had to pose for a solo shot.

So Danny might dislike this photo a little bit since he thought I was just doing a face shot.  Isn't this more exciting, though?

So Danny might dislike this photo a little bit since he thought I was just doing a face shot. Isn’t this more exciting, though?

Here is his obligatory face shot.  Cutie.

Here is his obligatory face shot. Cutie.

We capped off our excellent weekend with a nice long Skype sesh with Danny’s parents.  Best news from that convo:  they had quinoa and rice for Easter dinner (well, and some sort of meat whose name I didn’t recognize, but that’s beside the point.  My family had meat too.) which is awesome, and Danny’s dad is coming to Colorado this week too!  So fun and unexpected!

Today we’re back to normal life.  I accomplished two things: 1) I returned a few of our library books, and 2) I washed the towels.  Just kidding.  I did a few other things too, but let’s be honest, not many more.  I’m about to make dinner and these brownies for the Mormon missionaries who are coming to visit tonight.  And hopefully clean up the disaster we made last night bringing in all of our stuff.

{In unrelated news, on Friday I left the house wearing just a t-shirt (and pants, of course, but the t-shirt is significant because I was not wearing a jacket) for the first time since moving to Colorado Springs, and it was a beautiful choice.  Today I did the same thing and chose to take it a step further and pair my t-shirt with matching flip-flops.  Terrible choice.  It is cold(ish) here today.  Spring, where are you?!}

Leave a Reply

