friend

These days, the most common question I get is, “Have you found a job yet?”  It is seriously of the first three things that people usually ask me.

I do appreciate their thoughts (and in some cases, prayers) for my employment, but to be totally honest, right now I am waiting for someone to say, “Have you found a friend yet?”  Maybe no one’s asking because it could make them look bad or because it makes me look lame (you don’t have any friends?!), but whatever it is, that’s what I really want.

Speaking of friends, I’m trying to figure out what exactly a friend is.  Is someone your friend if you go to their house for dinner?  Or if you sit at the same table at Bible study?  Or does someone become your friend if you’ve met for coffee (or tea, in my case) three or more times?  I don’t know.

I do know that life as a newlywed 21-year-old who has just moved to a big-ish town (in fact, the 41st most populous in the United States…who knew?!) is hard.  Throughout college I heard that life after college was very different and the transition to it is often very difficult.  I fully believed these people who wanted to help me make the most of my time as a university student and knew that all this new-church-sharing-a-bed-for-the-first-time-ever-new-stage-of-life stuff would be hard…but not this hard.  I thought it would be an exciting adventure that I would look forward to everyday.  And it actually was (for the first two months).  But for the past couple of weeks, it has felt kind of sad and lonely and lame and has even involved a few tears here and there.  I’m no longer pumped about going to another women’s Bible study where I’m either a) the only young wife whose husband is not in the military or b) the only young woman without kids.  The only people who seem to want to come over to our house consistently are the Mormon missionaries.

So where is the Good News in all of this?  God knows exactly what He is doing and I am exactly where I am supposed to be.  And that is enough.  {Although if we’re being completely honest, I would tell you that I don’t always believe that is enough.  Sometimes I feel like I’m wasting my life away as I fill my days with washing dishes, folding towels, and returning library books.  But deep down, it is enough.}

“There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens.  He has made everything beautiful in its time.”  Ecclesiastes 3:1, 11

4 thoughts on “friend

  1. I will definitely be praying that God puts friends in your life. I can totally understand how difficult that must be, but I’m so encouraged always by your faith and how you constantly turn everything back to Jesus.
    I love you SHANNON!
    -and if I was a young bride living in Colorado Springs, you know I would wash dishes, go on hikes and return library books with you everyday!! ;)

    LOVE YOU!

  2. There is something about this post that resonates in my heart. I think I am learning, processing, and growing in this area as well. I know God has huge lessons to teach in regards to friends. Friends are a constantly changing concept with how our lives change through seasons and areas. I hope to be a friend that stands firm whether you are married, or have kids, or lives somewhere different.

    Forgive me for not showing this in the ways I know I should.

    Love you Shannon

  3. Pingback: our mormon missionaries | pandasandlemons

Leave a Reply

