life update

Just when I think I’m going to get back to blogging regularly, my computer decides it doesn’t want to charge anymore…sad day(s) for me. Thanks to some Amazon credit I had waiting for me after selling all my college textbooks back, I now have a sweet little charger (whose two days shipping cost more than it did) keeping me up and running.  Hallelujah!  Not only can I get back to blogging and pinning and Facebook-browsing, I can also resume applying for jobs.  Actually, the latter is my top priority right now, but it’s easy to get confused sometimes.

A week ago Thursday, we went to dinner with some new friends, Steve and Jamie.  They are super adventurous and made vegan falafel with all the fixings!  I made brownies and they were a hit, because they are awesome.  One of our favorite vegan recipes so far, I think.

On Thursday, some of my sweet new friends came over for the afternoon.  We ended up doing the worst puzzle in the world and got about halfway done!  {Why it is the Worst Puzzle in the World: Danny and I picked it up on a whim when we were in China last fall, and started it in January on National Puzzle Day.  After some valiant attempts on our part and some help from my love Kaci Rydgren, we gave in and started a new one.}

Look at those champions!  Taking on the puzzle whose pieces don't stay together and is almost all the same color!

Look at those champions! Taking on the puzzle whose pieces don’t stay together and are almost all the same color!

On Friday Tim came to visit!!  The guys stayed up late watching Journey 2 (I was lame and went to bed) and the next morning D and I made french toast while the snow began!

Look at those boys!  Just woke up and all ready for their French toast!

Look at those boys! Just woke up and all ready for their French toast!

We enjoyed a day of reading, cooking, playing Bananagrams, chatting, and just being together.  The guys decided to make homemade bread…

Did I mention it was sticky too?  Makes for yummy fingers though!

Did I mention it was sticky too? Makes for yummy fingers though!

…and it was awesome.  Despite taking like four (or possibly more) hours, it was delicious and well worth it.

So proud of their finished product!  Mmmmm.

So proud of their finished product! Mmmmm.

After the bread was finally done, we bundled up and headed outside, where the snow had accumulated and the temperatures were cold.  Aside from Tim thinking it’s funny to rub snow in Danny’s face (a lot), and not having any sleds, we had a splendid time.  It is so beautiful in the field next to our house, especially when it’s snowy.  Goodness gracious, I am so grateful for where we live.

I actually don't remember this happening, but if it's on the camera...it did.

I actually don’t remember this happening, but if it’s on the camera…it did.

Sweet boys.  Sidenote: Tim said it is impossible to get his beard dry (ever) after an experience like this.

Sweet boys. Sidenote: Tim said it is impossible to get his beard dry (ever) after an experience like this.

This is where we enter Narnia.

This is where we enter Narnia.

There's always a song to sing.  Like Taylor.

There’s always a song to sing. Like Taylor.

Look!  A fort!

Look! A fort!

Tim is in the tree.

Tim is in the tree.

As you can see, we had a bunch of fun and soaked it all in, as it could be our last snowstorm on this side of summer.  Today it’s close to seventy degrees, which means all the snow is gone but it is beautiful and sort of sunny out!

I can’t forget what happened Saturday night…we went to the hot tub.  That’s right, it was below freezing so we put on the least amount of clothing that is considered appropriate for our culture and got in an outdoor pool of warm water.

Kind of a weird picture, but at least you know I'm not making it up.

Kind of a weird picture, but at least you know I’m not making it up.

On Sunday, we went to church together and Tim was awesome and went to the Linx (code name for Young Marrieds group) with us.  We introduced him as our adopted son, I think.  Only kind of confusing since Tim and I are only four months apart.  His friend Hannah came over for lunch and a couple more games of Bananagrams before heading back to our old stomping grounds of good ol’ Greeley.

Monday took me to Greeley for an orthodontist appointment and sweet time with friends and family.  Super blessed to see Ginger Walcker, the leader of our campus ministry while at UNC in the morning and the crew from the Global Refugee Center in the afternoon. Plus my parents in the evening!  I headed back to the Springs after dinner, but the Lord had other plans with a sudden snowstorm that resulted in me turning around and heading back to my parents’ house for the night.  End result: I got to see Mysteridge (my super awesome ‘kid’ brother), watch YouTube videos of Dennis Rodman with him, and cut out coupons in bed so we can save money at the grocery store.

Wednesday – dinner with the super hip and awesome Chris, Emily, Jeb and Hendon/Hendorf/Henny.  Thursday – Steve and Jamie came over for dinner and vanilla cupcakes and a few rounds of Scattergories (Is “lackluster” a type of weather?  I don’t know, but I got points for it.  Shannon FTW).  Friday – lunch with the hubs outside on the gorgeous patio T.Rowe Price has.

He may not love his job, but I sure love him!

Lunch on the veranda.

Okay, seriously, I am not joking.  There are multiple water features, bridges, paths, and even a marshland that spills into a waterfall.  After eating last night’s yummy leftovers, we walked around the campus and even into the nearby neighborhood where we found Danny’s childhood home!

Pretty cool!  By the way, I don’t think we were trespassing at this point.  Just so you know.

D's place of residence from 8th grade till sophomore year of college.  Lookin' good.

D’s place of residence from 8th grade till sophomore year of college. Lookin’ good.

Yay for being unemployed and free to enjoy a pretty day during D’s lunch hour!

Love this.

Love this.

Oh and this happened this morning…

This is the panorama view outside from our porch that was waiting for us after our early morning workout.  WHAT?!  We are so stinkin' blessed.

This is the panorama view outside from our porch that was waiting for us after our early morning workout. WHAT?! We are so stinkin’ blessed.

Leave a Reply

